Beanie – Viking Valknut


Fits all Adult Head sizes.

Material: Polyester

1 in stock

SKU: CVbeanieTrplHrn Category:


FUN TRIVIA:   The Triple Horn of Odin is an ancient Norse Symbol that consists of three interlocked spirals/horns named Boðn, Óðrœrir, and Són.  

The Odhroerir is a magical mead that the dwarves Fjalar and Galar made by mixing the blood of Kvasir and honey.  Odin went on a quest to obtain and drink the mead from these three horns. The Triple Horn symbol is believed to pertain to the three times Odin had drunk the mead.  They now show the sacrifice you will dedicate to your chieftain in exchange for wisdom. Where as for Odin, he had a rite of passage which was his quest for obtaining the mead.  He had to figure out how to charm and seduce or trick a giantess that guarded the drinking horns.

Mead, always represents the Mead of Poetry is a symbol of poetic inspiration and wisdom. It was believed that anyone who drank the mead would become a skald or a scholar—wise, just like Kvasir. But not if they drank to much.


It is the Norse version of the Celtic triskelle or triskellion.  The most ancient meaning of the symbol, if you are matching it to the triskellion, is more commonly agreed to by scholars to represent the three realms of material existence: Underworld (Water or spiritual), earthworld (physical), and skyworld (celestial). For Norse they had 3 more worlds within the 3 making 9. These 9 worlds are

1 Asgard – Asgard is the home of the Æsir, a ruling class of deities that includes Odin, Frigg and Thor. A land more fertile than any other, blessed also with a great abundance of gold and jewels.  It is surrounded by an incomplete wall, attributed to a stone mason that Thor struck down when the gods learned he was a Hrimthurs in disguise.  It is also the location of Valhalla “hall of the slain”, an enormous feasting hall ruled over by Odin. In Valhalla, the dead who have died in combat there are known as “Einherjar”.  They prepare to aid Odin during the events of Ragnarök.

2 Álfheim/Ljósálfheimr – Álfheim (means Elfland) is loosely translated as “Land of the Elves”, is home of the Jósálfar light elves ruled by the Goddess Freya. They say it is more “beautiful than the sun”.

3 Niðavellir/Svartálfaheimr – Niðavellir translates as “new moon” or “the wane of the moon” and is the realm of the Dwarfs, a race of master smiths and craftsmen who reside underground working the mines and forges. (the old texts also say the black/dark elves live there too).

4 Midgard (Earth) – Midgard is a realm inhabited by a race known as humans, surrounded by an impassable ocean encircled by the great sea serpent Jörmungandr. The god’s of Asgard can journey to Midgard via the Bifröst, a burning rainbow bridge that ends in heaven at Himinbjörg, the residence of the god Heimdallr.  According to the Eddas (Icelandic literary works from the Vikings (norse people who live there), Midgard will be destroyed at Ragnarök, the battle at the end of the world. Jörmungandr will arise from the ocean, poisoning the land and sea with his venom and causing the sea to rear up and lash against the land. The final battle will take place on the plane of Vígríðr, where Midgard and almost all life on it will be destroyed and sink beneath the waves. In the aftermath, Midgard will rise again, fertile and green in a new creation cycle.

5 Jötunheimr/Útgarðr – Jötunheimr is the homeland of the Jötnar, the giants. It is described as having dark forests and mountain peaks where winter never eases its frosty grip. It was here that Odin sacrificed an eye in exchange for wisdom at the well of Mímisbrunnr.

6 Vanaheim – Unfortunately, Little is known about Vanaheim, other than it is the home of the Vanir, a group of gods associated with fertility, wisdom, and the ability to see the future. After the Æsir–Vanir War, the Vanir became a subgroup of the Æsir. Subsequently, members of the Vanir are also referred to as members of the Æsir so can be confusing.

7 Niflheim – Niflheim, translated as “Abode of Mist” or “Mist World” is a realm of primordial ice and one of the first to emanate out of Ginnungagap in the creation story of the Yggdrasil tree. The word “Niflheim” is only found in the works of Snorri and in the Hrafnagaldr Óðins.

8 Muspelheim – Muspelheim is a realm of fire and was the first elemental world to emanate from the primordial void of Ginnungagap. The world is ruled by Surtr, a jötunn giant and during the events of Ragnarök he will bring the flames that will engulf Midgard.

9 Hel – Not to be confused with the Christian Hell. The Realm of Hel, or “Helheim” is an underworld for many of the dead, ruled by the deity “Hel”. This underworld is more a continuation of life elsewhere, there is no staying here in bliss nor is there punishment. 

In other traditions these 9 realms can be seen as the Kaballah.  


Additional information

Weight .45 kg
Dimensions 28 × 26.8 × 1.25 cm
Celts and Vikings

Celts and Vikings